Frequently Asked Questions:
Do I need a FOID card to attend this course?
You do not need your FOID card to attend our course. Once you’ve completed our conceal carry course, you can apply for your FOID and conceal carry license at the same time
Do I need my own pistol to attend this course?
We provide pistols and ammunition to anyone who does not yet own their own firearm. If you are considering purchasing your own firearm and are not sure what you like, we recommend taking our intro pistol course. You will have an opportunity to handle and fire several different kinds of pistols. I highly recommend shooting a specific pistol before you buy it! Purchasing a pistol then disliking the way it shoots can be an expensive mistake!
Where is your course located?
We are currently using a classroom in Westmont and a range in Lombard. We are planning to offer classes at a range in Waukegan in the very near future!
What other states honor my Illinois Conceal Carry permit?
Who can obtain a conceal carry license in the state of Illinois?
Section 25. Qualifications for a license.
The Department shall issue a license to an applicant completing an application in accordance with Section 30 of this Act if the person:
(1) is at least 21 years of age;
(2) has a currently valid Firearm Owner’s Identification Card and at the time of application meets the requirements for the issuance of a Firearm Owner’s Identification Card and is not prohibited under the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act or federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm;
(3) has not been convicted or found guilty in this State or in any other state of:
(A) a misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; or
(B) 2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the 5 years preceding the date of the license application; and
(4) is not the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that HB0183 Enrolled LRB098 05760 MGM 35799 b Public Act 098-0063 could lead to disqualification to own or possess a firearm;
(5) has not been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the 5 years immediately preceding the date of the license application; and
(6) has completed firearms training and any education component required under Section 75 of this Act.